Track on Social Network and Media Analysis (SONAMA)
The 33rd ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC 2018)
April 9-13, 2018, Pau, France
Aims and Scope
With the advent of social network services such as Twitter, Facebook, 
Tumbler, and Google+, the research on social network and media analysis 
has been greatly advanced. In recent years, the interactions among people, 
sharing of knowledge and experiences, community activities in social 
network services increase greatly, which would make the research on social 
networks more important. Furthermore, as social media contents within 
social network services are rapidly being produced and consumed, the social 
media contents now account for the majority of content published on the 
world wide web. Social media is differentiated from traditional media in 
many aspects such as its frequency, quality, usability, immediacy, and
permanence, which leads to significant potential to the social media 
analysis research. 
The ACM SAC has been an important venue for the past 32 years, 
attracting computer scientists, computer engineers, software engineers, 
and application developers from around the world. The Social Network and 
Media Analysis (SONAMA) track of ACM SAC will provide a forum that brings 
together researchers and practitioners for exploring technologies, issues, 
experiences, and applications with a specific focus on the recent research 
trends and industrial needs in the related fields. Since social network and 
media analysis encompasses a variety of highly cross-disciplinary research 
issues, the SONAMA will foster collaborations and exchange of ideas and 
experiences among researchers working in various fields such as computer 
science, linguistics, statistics, sociology, economics, and business. 
Topics of Interest
We plan to include all the important topics related to 
social network and media analysis within the SONAMA. 
These topics include, but are not limited to:
- Community structure analysis in social networks    
- Applications of social network and media analysis
- Analysis of the relationship between social media and traditional media 
- Data modeling for social networks and social media
- Detection of spam, misinformation and malicious activities in social networks
- Business impact in social network and media analysis
- Political impact in social network and media analysis
- Geographical analysis of social networks
- Temporal analysis of social networks
- Information analysis for social media
- Dynamics and evolution of social networks
- Information acquisition in social networks
- Big data issues in social network and media analysis
- Link prediction and simulation
- Modeling of user behavior and interaction 
- Monitoring social networks and media
- New social media applications and interfaces 
- Pattern analysis in social networks
- Personalization for social interaction
- Privacy and security in social networks 
- Propagation and diffusion of information in social networks
- Social information applied to recommender systems
- Information retrieval in social network services
- Visualization and presentation of social information
- Statistical analysis 
- Topological analysis of social networks 
- Trust management for social networks and social media
- Qualitative and quantitative studies of social networks and social media
Important Dates

Paper submission: September 15, 2017  ---> October 1, 2017 (Extended)
Acceptance notification: November 10, 2017  ---> November 17, 2017 (Extended)
Camera-ready copies: November 25, 2017  ---> December 9, 2017 (Extended)
Author registration: December 10, 2017  
---> December 15, 2017 (Extended)

Submission Guidelines
Authors are invited to submit original and unpublished papers of research and applications for this track. Full papers are limited to 8 pages with the option for up to 2 additional pages. The author(s) name(s) and address(es) must not appear in the body of the paper, and self-reference should be in the third person. This is to facilitate double-blind review. Only the title should be shown at the first page without the author's information. Papers must be formatted according to the ACM SAC template. Papers that received high reviews but were not accepted due to space limitations can be invited for the poster session. Posters are limited to 3 pages with the option for up to only additional page. For full submission guidelines, please follow the instructions on the ACM SAC 2018 website. Please submit your contribution via SAC 2018 Web page. 

Student Research Competition (SRC) Program 
Graduate students are invited to submit research abstracts (2 pages, no extra pages) following the instructions published at SAC 2018 website. Submission of the same abstract to multiple tracks is not allowed. All research abstract submissions will be reviewed by expert reviewers and practitioners. Authors of selected abstracts will have the opportunity to give poster presentations of their work and compete for three top-winning places. The SRC committee will evaluate and select the first-, second-, and third-place winners. The winners will receive medals and cash awards. Winners will be announced during the conference banquet. Authors of selected abstracts are eligible to apply to the SIGAPP Student Travel Award program for financial support. Please submit your contribution via SAC 2018 Web page.

Track Chair
Sang-Wook Kim
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Hanyang University, Korea
E-mail contact:
Program Committee Members

Ladjel Bellatreche National Engineering School for Mechanics and Aerotechnics, France
Tru Hoang Cao Ho Chi Minh University of Technology, Vietnam
Seong Je Cho Dankook University, Korea
WanSup Cho Chungnok National University, Korea
Chang Choi Chosun University, Korea
Freddy Chong-Tat Chua Singapore Management University, Singapore
Christian Esposito University of Salerno, Italy
Sheng Gao BUPT, China
Ji-Woon Ha Hanyang University, Korea
Masoud R. Hamedani Dankook University, Korea
Dominic Heutelbeck Forschungsinst. fur Telekommunikation e.V., Germany
Yoshinori Hijikata Osaka University, Japan
Kuo-Wei Hsu National Cheng Chi University, Taiwan
Hao Huang Ge Global Research, USA
Shu Huang Microsoft, USA      
Heasoo Hwang University of Seoul, Korea
Mirjana Ivanovic University of Novi Sad, Serbia
Jamil Hasan University of Idaho
Min-Hee Jang Samsung Electronics, USA
Jason J. Jung Yeungnam University, Korea
Carlos Alberto Kamienski Federal University of ABC, Brazil
U Kang KAIST, Korea
Pinar Karagoz Middle East Technical University, Turkey
Hyunchul Kim Sangmyung University, Korea
Hyoungshick Kim Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
Han Joon Kim University of Seoul, Korea
Chulyun Kim Gachon University, Korea
Younghoon Kim Seoul National University, Korea
Sang-Chul Lee Hyundai Heavy Industries, Korea
Jongwuk Lee Pennsylvania State University, USA
Ki Yong Lee Sookmyung Women's University, Korea
Dongho Lee Hanyang University, Korea
Andrea Marino University of Pisa, Italy
Pedro O.S Vaz de Melo Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
Mikolaj Morzy Poznan University of Technology, Poland
Richi Nayak Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Pedro Ribero University of Porto, Portugal
Milos Savic University of Novi Sad, Serbia
Won-Yong Shin Dankook University, Korea
Min Song Yonsei University, Korea
Francesca Spezzano Boise State University, USA
Julien Velcin University Lyon 2, France
Emmanuel Viennet Universite Paris 13, France
Xiaojie Wang BUPT, China
Joyce Whang Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
Junjie Yao East China Normal University, China
Shinjae Yoo Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
Seok-Ho Yoon Samsung Electronics, Korea
Eva Zangerle University of Innsbruck, Austria
Xiangliang Zhang King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia